Press "Enter" to skip to content

The 2018 Season in Review – Part 3

It was ‘all change’ for the British Offshore Racing scene in 2018, when the United Kingdom Offshore Powerboat Racing Association (UKOPRA) took over as the sanctioning body.

The racing in Britain featured international competitors from as far afield as Bermuda, however the races were not run under Union Internationale Motonautique (UIM) sanction.

UKOPRA produced a set of Offshore Rules, found willing and experienced people to officiate at the races and instigated a low cost online racing licence procedure.

The Fortitudo Property Poole Bay 100 race in June
Photo: Snap-Photography

Offshore racers competing in Marathon and Class 3 sub-divisions raced at 3 venues, Poole, Falmouth and Cowes with a non-championship event held in September back in Poole Bay.

Dry Martini at Falmouth
Photo: Tim Tapping

The racing was competitive and at times – tough, with 2 very rough races staged at Falmouth and Cowes.

Offshore Racers at Cowes
Photo: Malc Attrill

The UKOPRA Series certainly captured the imagination of racers who enjoy having their bodies battered and bruised while having buckets of water thrown at them.

For 2019, more competitors from overseas have committed to race at Poole, Guernsey and Cowes while new British racers are putting boats together.

2018 Marathon World Champions – Miles Jennings and Drew Langdon
Photo: Chris Davies

UKOPRA 2019 Race Dates

Fortitudo Property Poole Bay 100 – 8th June

Organised by 2017 MOTO Limited

Guernsey – 6th July 

Organised by The Guernsey Powerboat Association

Cowes – 25th August

Organised by The British Powerboat Racing Club

Top Photo: Snap-Photography

Please support this website by adding us to your whitelist in your ad blocker. Ads are what helps us bring you premium content! Thank you!