Press "Enter" to skip to content

Microlink Ahmad Tea are the 2016 ThunderCat Racing Champions

Rob Davies and Darren Phillips from Wales were crowned as the 2016 Microlink ThunderCat Racing Champions today at Watergate Bay in Cornwall.

In only their second year of racing, the determined team faced stiff competition from Multispark Racing all season.

Going into the final round, the duo held a slender 2 point lead over their close rivals.

The fourth heat of the day ensured their Championship.

Gary Tolman and Scott Brown pushed Multispark Racing to the limit and beyond in pursuit of points.

It was to be their undoing as they were both ejected from their Aquarius hull.

Rob Davies, the new Champion told me after;

I’m knackered!
After turning the boat over yesterday in the final, it really added extra pressure.
We came up with a game plan for today, drive safely and stay in the boat.

Round 14 saw another win for Darryn Harrison, although it was not without its problems.

During Heat 2 his Moku-Evolution 5 Co-Driver James Ion took a nasty knock and couldn’t continue due to medical advice.

Harrison then used a further 2 crew members, Kersey Segger and Mike Littler for the remaining races.

Simon Matthews and Martin Jerome third place overall today was good, but the points were even better. They ensured the Seavacation Team a bronze in the overall Championship.

On one of the worst weekends for weather in Britain this year, it showed again what a remarkable series ThunderCat Racing is.

Photos: Mike Powell

Please support this website by adding us to your whitelist in your ad blocker. Ads are what helps us bring you premium content! Thank you!