fbpx Press "Enter" to skip to content

Grand Prix of Saudi Arabia – Updates

Please Share!

Shaun Torrente set the fastest time in Dammam, Saudia Arabia of 1:14.36 before the 90 minute qualifying session was cancelled.

America’s Greg Foster who had posted the fifth quickest time of 1:22.81, delaminated his Blaze Performance hull on the third lap and the Red Flag was dropped after 30 minutes.

Foster told Nigel Quilter after:

I was just cruising around and came off the right-hander and heading to turn 5 when the boat nosed down.

It didn’t seem bad and I went through it then all of a sudden the next thing I know there is water coming in all over the side.

UIM race Director Luis Ribeiro explained the decision to cancel the session:

The conditions were getting progressively worse so in the best interests of all the drivers we have stopped the session and will wait to see if the conditions improve.


With weather conditions worsening, it’s highly unlikely that anything other than a crowd-pleasing parade of boats will be run.


After the parade lap UIM race Director Luis Ribeiro informed the drivers that the race would not be run.


The boats are being craned out of the water, they will now be packed up and shipped to Portugal.

Ironically, Portimão will once again host the first round of the UIM F1H2o World Championship.

2019 UIM F1H2o Grand Prix of Saudi Arabia - REBELLION Pole Position

Driver#TeamHull / EngineTime
Shaun Torrente 1Team Abu Dhabi DAC / Mercury1:14.36
Francesco Cantando 37Blaze Performance Blaze / Mercury1:14.87
Peter Morin 8CTIC F1 Shenzhen China Moore / Mercury1:18.28
Erik Edin 15Team Amaravati DAC / Mercury1:19.92
Greg Foster 36Blaze Performance Blaze / Mercury1:22.81
Philippe Chiappe 7CTIC F1 Shenzhen China Moore / Mercury1:22.81
Thani Al Qemzi 2Team Abu Dhabi DAC / Mercury1:26.57
Jonas Andersson 14Team Amaravati DAC / Mercury1:36.11
Filip Roms 12Sharjah TeamBaBa / Mercury1:48.42
Marit Strømøy 50Emirates Racing BaBa / Mercury1:54.45
Ahmed Al Hameli 3Victory Team Victory / Mercury1:58.98
Sami Seliö 11Sharjah TeamBaBa / Mercury1:58.98
Alex Carella 44Victory Team Victory / Mercury2:42.69
Duarte Benavente 10F1 Atlantic Team Moore / Mercury3:47.33
Cédric Deguisne 73Maverick Racing Moore / Mercury4:34.97
Alberto Comparato 9F1 Atlantic Team DAC / Mercury
Bartek Marszalek 77Emirates Racing DAC / Mercury
Beranger Robart 74Maverick Racing Moore / Mercury
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
John Moore

John raced Offshore UIM Class 3 in the 1980’s & 1990’s.
He served as the Cowes Torquay Cowes Event Director for 4 years, including running the 50 th Anniversary Event in 2010.
He has recently organised 4 British Offshore races under UKOPRA sanction.
He is the Editor of Powerboat Racing World.

© 2020 Powerboat Racing World.

Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Powerboat Racing World with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.