Press "Enter" to skip to content


Please Share!

On Friday evening, the top 16 drivers took part in a Speed Run and a Match Race in bright and breezy conditions. Eventual winner David Del Pin was the man to beat amongst the early runners with a time of 181.3km/h, followed by Héctor Lopez’s speed of 180.3km/h. Rashed Al-Qemzi and Mohammed Al-Mehairbi carded speeds of 177.8 and 172.1km/h, respectively, but Matthew Palfreyman was forced to miss the evening’s session after his boat was damaged in testing last week.

Al-Mehairbi made a bad start in his first Match Race heat against Konstantin Ustinov and was eliminated. Al-Qemzi missed out in his heat against Erik Edin, as the Swede joined Piere Lundin, Del Pin, Frode Sundsdal, Rupert Temper, Edgaras Riabko, Ustinov and rookie Lopez in the last eight. Lundin, Sundsdal, Riabko and Edin then made it through to the semi-finals.

Lundin got the better of Sundsdal in the first of the semis and was joined in an all-Swedish final by Edin after a tense run-off with Riabko. The Lithuanian also won the third-placed run-off heat to clinch the final spot on the podium before Lundin clinched victory over Edin in a thrilling Match Race final.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

© 2020 Powerboat Racing World.

Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Powerboat Racing World with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.