UIM F4 – Manninen Wins Round 2

2016 UIM F4 World Champion Juho-Matti Manninen was back to his best today in Imatra.

Manninen started the race from pole position and cruised to a 2017 UIM F4 Second Round victory.

Kalle Viippo, who won the first round yesterday, qualified sixth today, but the shock of the day came when he was disqualified after the race for breaching UIM rule 504.13.

British interest centered around the ‘Ben’s’.

Ben Morse had a far from ideal start, his Radio Man Matt Palfreyman told me after, ‘Ben drove a stormer!’

‘He did really well to get past both Sebastian Haugaard and Ben Jelf’.

‘With more time, I’m sure he could have got by Magnus Sederholm’.

Ben Jelf in only his second UIM F4 World Championship race impressed again.

The 17 year old took a worthy 7th place. He now goes to Stewartby, a lake he has grown up on, for rounds 3 and 4 with a decent tally of points gained in Finland.

Sam Whittle didn’t have the best of weekends, he put his new BaBa hull on its roof on Saturday morning and never found the speed that he has seen during spring test sessions.

The Series moves to England in 2 weeks time, the beautiful lake at Stewartby will host Round 3 and 4 on July 1st and 2nd.

Round 2 – 2017 UIM F4 World Championship – Imatra, Finland

1st) Juho-Matti Manninen – FIN – 00.17.16
2nd) Nikita Lijcs – LAT – 00.17.19
3rd) Tuukka Lehtonen – FIN – 00.17.20
4th) Morgan Jernfast – SWE – 00.17.28
5th) Magnus Sederholm – FIN – 00.17.36
6th) Ben Morse – GBR – 00.17.37
7th) Ben Jelf – GBR – 00.17.43
8th) Sebastian Haugaard – DEN – 00.18.01
9th) Adrian – POL – 1 Lap
10th) Lauri Landén – FIN – 1 Lap
11th) Alexander Lindholm – FIN – 1 Lap
12th) Sam Whittle – GBR – 1 Lap
13th) Paulius Stainys – LTU – 1 Lap
14th) Virgilijus Gedrimas – LTU – 2 Laps
15th) Sander Sarlin – EST – 3 Laps
16th) Kalle Viippo – FIN – (DQ UIM Rule 504.13)

Photo: F4 Powerboat Series

Additional reporting: Silvia Borgonovi

John Moore
John raced Offshore Class 3 in the 80’s & 90’s.
He served as the Cowes Torquay Cowes Event Director for 4 years, including running the 50 th Anniversary Event in 2010.
He is the Editor of powerboatracingworld.com